Police across Connecticut are cracking down on distracted drivers.
The Hartford Courant reports police from Stamford and Westport to Norwich and North Haven are warning motorists to stay off their phones while driving. Extra patrols are being funded by the federal government. Fines for drivers start at $150 for a first offense, while a third offense will cost $500.
Connecticut law prohibits the use of hand-held electronics by drivers. Underage drivers are also prohibited from using hands-free devices. The Connecticut cell phone ban is among the nation's toughest. Texting bans in states that allow hand-held cell phone use have been tough to enforce. But in Connecticut, if a police officer sees you using your phone at the wheel, you can be pulled over and ticketed.
Distracted Driving Risks in Fairfield
Safety advocates are also reminding motorists that distracted driving is not just about cell phones. In-car electronics, pets and passengers, eating or drinking, grooming, or external distractions can be equally dangerous. Our personal injury lawyers in Fairfield continue to see common causes of distracted driving collisions, including:
- Intersection accidents: An increasing number of traffic collisions at intersections are being blamed on distracted driving.
- Bicyclists and pedestrians: Bicyclists and pedestrians already present drivers with uncertain risks. But this is particularly true when a driver is not paying attention to the road ahead.
- Defensive driving: Accident avoidance is all about driving defensively. An alert driver can often take evasive action, or otherwise compensate for an unsafe driver.
- Merging traffic: Whether entering the road from side streets or parking lots, merging traffic often presents obstacles for motorists.
Personal Injury Cases Involving Distracted Drivers
Cell phone records, police and witness accounts, photos or videos of an accident scene, and examination of the involved vehicles can all help determine whether distraction was a factor in accident causation. Even those found partially at fault may still have a case for damages. Connecticut Code, Sec. 52-572h - Chapter 925, recognizes modified contributory negligence, which does not bar a plaintiff from collecting damages from other at-fault parties, so long as he or she was not 51 percent or more at fault, or more at fault than the combined fault of defendants.
Identifying all responsible parties is critical to your personal injury claim. If you've been injured in a crash, contact Vishno Law Firm and find out what we can do for you.